The Fifth Edition of ISRIA will be hosted by the Novo Nordisk Foundation in Denmark. The Novo Nordisk Foundation is the largest Danish independent foundation with corporate interests. The objective of the Novo Nordisk Foundation is twofold: to provide a stable basis for the commercial and research activities conducted by the companies within the Novo Group and to support scientific and humanitarian purposes.

Since 1927, the Novo Nordisk Foundation has awarded grants to researchers at universities and hospitals in Denmark and the other Nordic countries to support research in biomedicine, biotechnology, general practice, nursing and art history at public knowledge institutions. The Foundation also supports scientific objectives within innovation, education, dissemination and humanitarian and social purposes. The Foundation allocated in 2016 more than Euro 260 million for grants within these areas.

Impact assessment at the Foundation
The Novo Nordisk Foundation is obligated to demonstrate the value and impact
of research supported through the foundation and to ensure that the grants
are given in a way which ensures the optimal benefit for the research community and society in general. From a societal perspective, the purpose of impact assessment is to assess and report on the short- and long-term effects of the activities of the Foundation to society.

The foundation aims to increase knowledge about research impact assessment frameworks, tools and approaches in this emerging and specialized discipline. In addition, the foundation wants to increase collaborations and networks that connect the local and international community of practitioners to learn about all aspects of an impact assessment, from planning to communication of the results.

For more information about the foundation, please visit:

To read the foundation’s latest impact assessment reports, please visit:

Previous hosts
2016: Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation [CSIRO], Australia (
2015: Qatar National Research Fund, Qatar (
2014: Alberta Innovates, Canada (
2013: Agency for Health Quality and Assessment of Catalonia [AQuAS] (